The Board of the Rockingham Basketball Association would like to wish all the players, referees, coaches and parents a great Christmas and a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year.

I would like to thank all the volunteers who contributed to our Association over the past year.

I would also like to thank new Board members, Jo McCarthy (Treasurer), Tracy Napolitano (Secretary) Jodie Withnell (Super-League/Fundraising), Mark Heath (Referees) as well as Jon Ellis (IT Solutions), Sharon Matenga (WABL) , Karina Tudor (Tribunal). Each of you has made significant contributions to the RBRA success in 2017.

Our staff, Cady Jorgensen and Kevin Corbitt have also contributed to our success.

The new floors on court 4-7, made possible by the State Government, are currently being installed and the City of Rockingham is initiating a tender process for new glass backboards for all the courts.

The new scoreboards are in place on courts 4-7 and the City Of Rockingham is replacing the scoreboard on Ct 1.

There will be some really exciting announcements from our Men’ and Women’s NBL1 teams in the near future regarding our recruits for 2018.

RBRA has appointed a part time Operations officer, Amy Osmond, who will be working with NBL1 and Aussie Hoops and in a number of other areas in 2018.

WABL under the leadership of Director, Sharon Matenga, will have a record number of WABL teams competing in 2018. At our recent State Championship trials, under the direction of the WABL committee and Coaching Chairman Andrew Cooper a record number of players tried out.

Thanks to Andrew for his dedication and planning.

Computerised scoring for domestic basketball has been introduced together with on-line registrations for players and teams.

With some minor adjustments, this system will make our administration process much more efficient in 2018.

A number of junior basketball players have been recognised by selection in State and National teams or programmes. This is a credit to them, their coaches and of course the effort put in by their parents.

Particular congratulations to Luke Travers (Australian U17 Mens team), Callum Beard (AIS 2017), Kane Waters (AIS NBA Global Academy 2018) and State team representatives Luke Travers (U18M), Callum Beard (U18M), Jesni Cooper (U18W), Isabelle Classon (U18W), Kane Waters (U16M), Will Hansen (U16M), Zahli-Rose Jolly (U16W), Saxon Matenga (12B SSWA).

And to all the Flames players who were selected for BWA SCC Development Tours, SPP Squads and Australian School Championships.

Congratulations to Andrew Cooper on the appointment of head coach for the U18 WA Men’s team for 2018.

A special mention to our touring team and head coach Travis Young who represented the Flames at the U14 Club Championships this year. They were extremely competitive despite losing one of their players, Kallum Penn to injury just before the tournament. We wish Kallum a speedy recovery.

We are extending our Development programme to the 44 Primary and 13 secondary schools in our catchment area.

Aussie Hoops will commence at Living Waters School and a number of other primary schools in first term 2018 and will also run on Monday, Tuesday and Thursday in our stadium with coaches (NBL1 players), Ari Hetherington and Maddie Allen involved.

This is an exciting time to be involved in Flames’ Basketball.

Warren Boucaut

NOTE: The Mike Barnett Stadium will be closed until 8 January. Please watch our website and Facebook for more announcements.